H is for Hippo


We are on day 8 of the Blogging from A-Z challenge and we have arrived at the letter H.

You may know that I am very keen on crocheting, and I particularly like the quirky and the cute. I’ve done blankets and hats, scarves and gloves, stuffed toys (Ethan’s Super-Monkey is still a treasured favourite), chicks, coasters, banners – the lot!

But I am always on the lookout for new ways to use old ideas and I found this picture this morning which sums up everything I love about the huge plethora of options my hobby presents to me.

Hippos!!

I want to make everything on this photo, and I think I will start with the granny “square” stuffed hippo. I can see a stream of these tripping off my hook in various colours in the near future. Watch out for Christmas presents people! I can see them in team colours (Manchester City anyone?) or Halloween colours, Christmas and Advent colours, Spring flowers, either warm or cool palettes…the combinations are endless and I can’t wait to get started.

I can see hippos being the next big thing, replacing the owls of the last few years. Kids in hippo hats, kids in hippo slippers, stuffed hippo cuddle blankets, hippo toys… oh yes, let me at them!!

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in A-Z April 2015 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to H is for Hippo

  1. Those hippo slippers are the cutest:-) Thanks for sharing. Hope you have a great A to Z

    Like

  2. K. Renae P. says:

    Those hippo slippers and hat are the cutest! Love!

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

