The Listerine Pedicure


You will have seen the internet meme that went viral about using Listerine and vinegar to help get rid of the hard skin on your feet. Surely girls, you have seen it?

Being cursed with horny hoofs myself, I thought it was something to have a go at to see if it could help. I mean, what could go wrong? It was only mouthwash, vinegar and warm water – nothing too sinister and if it didn’t work, the worst that could happen was that my feet would be as they were before.

So I decided to give it a go.

foot soak

Not wanting to bust a fiver on “proper” Listerine, I thought it might work just as well with a cheaper alternative. After all, the active ingredient was bound to be the same. Wasn’t it?

The one I chose was blue, just like Listerine, and instead of the hefty fiver from Morrisons yesterday, I thought I would try it with their own brand. At 95p it wouldn’t be a waste of money and I wouldn’t feel bad if it didn’t work.

The other ingredient in this cocktail was “white vinegar”, which if you are from the USA you will no doubt be able to get by the bucket load, but here in the good old UK, the closest I could manage was “distilled vinegar”. Well, it was see through so it was bound to be the same, no?

So I set about putting together the foot-bath this evening after the consumption of a bottle of wine.

First of all I looked at the quantities for the recipe. It stated “1/4 cup mouthwash, 1/4 white vinegar and 1/2 cup of warm water. Now, ladies, I don’t know about you but a cup can be anything from a dainty tea cup to a great big Sports Direct mug here in England, can’t it?? I thought that maybe the cups I use might be ok, but as it turned out, they produced only a small amount of liquid. Wasn’t even enough to drown a mouse in let alone soak my big trotters.

I thought that so long as maintained the ratios, things wouldn’t go too badly so I tipped the full bottle of mouthwash (500ml) and the full bottle of distilled vinegar (568ml) into a small plastic box (I was banned from using the washing up bowl – “ew, we wash the POTS in that!”) and added two bottles-worth of hot water to the mix.

It certainly looked like the picture on the internet but…blimey, the SMELL was nothing like I could have anticipated.

If you think of mint sauce that has been left on a buffet table all afternoon in the height of summer you will be somewhere near the horrific aroma that came up from this bowl of blue foam. Nevertheless I went ahead and plunged my feet into it and was quite surprised to find that it was quite nice.

For about three seconds.

And then the split under my little toe on my right foot and the hang-nail on my right big toe made themselves known. Don’t forget ladies, this mixture – albeit a pleasant shade of blue – is a quarter part of vinegar. Which is acidic. And makes cuts and splits sting like mad.

The towel I had handy for drying after my foot-soak was swiftly deployed as an anti-scream device, which brought much hilarity for my son and my husband. Apparently, watching your mum’s feet turn blue while tears are streaming down her face as she tries to stop herself swearing is fantastic fun. Whaddya know??

The stings calmed down after a few minutes and my feet settled into their little warm, minty bath quite nicely. The stink continued though and I started to get a bit uncertain about how much it would linger overnight. I am due in work tomorrow. Not just “work” work, but “exam invigilating in a room full of teenagers all morning” kind of work. And I’m due at a family funeral at lunchtime. Oh boy. This was not going to end well!

However, after a fifteen minute soak (during which time the water went very cold, very quickly) I jumped under the shower to try to wash off the minty/vinegary smell. I used my usual pumice on the hard skin and be honest, apart from a slight blue tinge around my nails, my feet feel FANTASTIC.

There is a lingering tingle from the mouthwash, and I’m yet to see if I wake up with smurf-feet in the morning, but all in all it is well worth the effort because my feel feel lovely and soft now, and the pumice was much easier to use because of the pre-soak earlier on.

Pam’s Verdict:

Softness of skin – 10/10

Freshness feeling 10/10 (good to use in summer perhaps when feet are hot and tired?)

Hard skin removal 5/10 (no different from a “normal” foot soak really)

Entertainment value for the family 15/10!

 

 

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Comment and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Listerine Pedicure

  1. kevin smith says:

    You do indeed have a history of things blue having imbibed of the hops or fermented grape juice.
    https://sterlingsop.wordpress.com/2006/02/14/blue-chin/

    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mich says:

    Wish I could have been there, sounded hilarious! And you’re right, over here the white vinegar comes in sizes from 500ml to 4 litres, it’s the ‘standard’ vinegar, malt vinegar is a ‘speciality’ vinegar and is only found in the better pubs.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. amanda says:

    FabuLous Pam xx will try soon maybe with the green one lol

    Liked by 1 person

  4. emilia m. says:

    oh my gosh, I cried too… reading this post. hilarious! 😀
    did the smell keep overnight and to the next day? 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

