Daybook Entry – 14th May 2015


FOR TODAY 14th Maye99db-simple-woman-daybook-large

Outside my window… it has only just gone dark. Summer is on the way!

I am thinking… about how good it feels to have both my children under my roof at the same time.

I am thankful… for the honesty and soul-baring tonight at our study group. My church family is a good gang and a loving place to share life’s ups and downs.

In the kitchen… we had tuna pasta for tea tonight. Team effort between Kevin and myself and it was very tasty.

I am wearing… my reading glasses to do this on my laptop. My eyes are most definitely feeling their age!

I am creating… my end of module assessment work for both my OU modules. They are due in on 28th May and 2nd June, and so between now and then I will be creating a written piece on a historical figure, writing a song setting for some words they have given us from the OU and writing an analytical essay on a Mozart Sonata. Excited about two of them, dreading the other one. Can you guess which one?

I am going… to clean the house from top to bottom over the weekend. I have been so busy with studying and working at school these last couple of weeks it feels like my poor home has been neglected.

I am praying… for my father in law; my friend Rita; my brother and his family.

I am wondering… if my heroic medicine will work overnight.

I am reading… a crime thriller called “Holy Island” which is by a new author, L J Ross. I have only got a little way into it so far but the prose is good and the set up is promising. I’ll let you know how it goes.

I am hoping… my friend has a good holiday next week.

I am looking forward to… having some time to be more creative once these OU modules are over. Honestly, I have loved every minute of the work on them this year, but I am looking forward to them being over so I can do other things for a little while.

I am learning… about Jesus’ ministry according to John. Fascinated to discover that he saw it differently from the other three gospel writers.

Around the house… is loads of stuff from my parents in law’s house as well as our usual rubbish. They could easily come and film an episode of Hoarders here this week.

I am pondering… which mattress to buy for our bed. The one we have already has been fantastic for about 9 years and it is at the end of its natural life now and I have been looking for an equivalent one to replace it with. Technology has moved on since we bought this one, especially when it comes to “toppers” on mattresses. They seem to be pretty standard issue now, which is great news because having slept on a memory foam topped mattress for so long I don’t think I could go back to just springs again!

A favourite quote for today… “If it doesn’t challenge you, it won’t change you”.

One of my favourite things… is reading a book at bedtime.

A few plans for the rest of the week: work tomorrow, band tomorrow night, housework on Saturday, church Sunday, band playing in Todmorden town centre Sunday afternoon.

A peek into my day… this photo was taken this time last week when I was working on my sermon for last Sunday. I can’t believe this is the first chance I’ve had to share it with you! I have been so busy with different things that I haven’t had chance to blog properly this week (guilt-free anyway) and I wanted to show you this to show you part of the “creative process” I go through when I write. This was for a sermon, but I go through a similar thing for any article or piece I write for publication or my OU work. You can see the notes, the outline, the source books (in this case the Bible) and a commentary in this case. You can also see the most precious of all and that’s my cup of tea by the side of the keyboard. No creative exercise is complete without a decent brew! What you can’t see here is the two-screen display on the white shelf above the keyboard, and you can’t hear the fantastic music I’d found on Spotify to help me through. It was instrumental worship music and was so soothing, uplifting, calming, inspiring and generally the best thing to work along to.

 

Preparing a sermon

Preparing a sermon

Look out for the next Daybook. Hopefully it won’t be too far away!

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Daybook and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daybook Entry – 14th May 2015

  1. Pingback: Daybook Entry - 14th May 2015 | Christians Anonymous

  2. Kristi says:

    Stopping by from the A to Z road trip. (I blog at http://www.thankfulme.net) The last mattress we bought was actually from amazon: http://amzn.com/B00474X5DO We purchased it for our daughter, and she has been happy with it. Good luck with your shopping!

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

