Daybook Entry – 27th May 2015


021114_2314_DaybookEntr1.jpgFOR TODAY 27th May (Happy Birthday Alan x) 

Outside my window… It feels like Autumn! So cold I’ve had to put the heating on again.

I am thinking… about getting over the finishing line with my OU modules. I submitted my first piece of work earlier this week and I have got two left which need to be done before next Tuesday. I can see myself doing it, but when I come to actually do it (like, put hands to keyboard or pen in hand) I can’t seem to make any progress.

I am thankful… that I have had this chance to learn more about music and to push myself creatively and academically.

In the kitchen… I have a bundle of home-grown rhubarb from my Dad’s garden that needs making up into a crumble.

I am wearing… blue t-shirt, blue tracksuit bottoms and my favourite pair of socks.

I am creating… Celtic knots. In the midst of my end-of-module stress I needed to find something that would be completely different and would give my mind something else to think about, so I taught myself how to draw Celtic knotwork designs.

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I am going… to a small ceremony to scatter my Aunty Jackie’s ashes tomorrow.

I am praying… for my father in law who is very poorly in body and mind; my cousins for tomorrow; my daughter who has had the last exam of her law degree today and is now facing The Rest Of Her Life; that the Royal Navy medical staff pass her fit so she can begin training this year; my husband who needs some TLC at the minute.

I am wondering… if I’m going to pass my modules this summer. Ithink I will, but it’s not the same as knowing I will.

I am reading… “Holy Island” by L J Ross. I think it is the same book I was reading the last time I did a daybook entry, but I have not had much time for reading recently. Must get that rectified after next week!

I am hoping… the weather is good tomorrow. My son has marching practice with the band he is playing for on Whit Friday tomorrow morning. I don’t think they’ll be happy if it’s raining in the morning.

I am looking forward to… having some time to relax and not worry about hitting a deadline. The past couple of months have been a bit mad in that respect.

I am learning… connected to the Celtic knotwork above, I am learning not to feel guilty about time away from “duties” of studying and working for my degree.

Around the house… ummm things are definitely messy. Got lots of stuff still from my parents in law’s bungalow to sift through and either store or throw away, and even though the bathroom is clean (one of my favourite procrastination techniques) there is plenty that has been left for too long.

I am pondering… what module to do next year. Do I continue with creative writing and venture into the world of screenplays and TV work? Or do I pursue music, which though it will be interesting I feel will be pushing beyond what I need to know for my own enjoyment (and which has an exam at the end). Or do I stop now and allow room for OLM things to come through? Or, do I do creative writing until OLM comes through (if it ever will), or do I do both music AND writing so I will definitely get my degree this time next year but put myself through incredible stress to do it and risk shutting out OLM things? Or can I do all three? Or something else… Children’s Literature for example. Or Roman Myths and Legends. Decisions, decisions.

A favourite quote for today… Me: You know that Westboro Baptist Church? Kevin: Is that the one in Chadderton? (Doesn’t understand why I fall about laughing)

One of my favourite things… used to be reading in my nice comfy bed before I went to sleep. But we recently got a new mattress and I’ve gone from having Baby Bear’s bed to Daddy Bear’s bed. My spine certainly feels the difference but it has spoiled my late night read. Sigh…

A few plans for the rest of the week: still got a song to write and an analysis essay to write for my OU module (which I might work on while I’m in the car waiting for Ethan tomorrow morning), scattering ashes in the afternoon, healing service in the evening, Whit Friday on Friday (not going myself, but Ethan needs taxiing about), church on Sunday, finishing off my music and essay over the weekend.

A peek into my day…

DSC_2420
The very long score I have to analyise and then write an essay on.

 

 

 

DSC_2419
Me at work whilst watching the State Opening of Parliament. Probably not the best idea.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Daybook Entry – 27th May 2015

Add yours

  1. I read about that church recently, about the JK Rowling spat. Chadderton? 🙂
    Our Angolan student asked for the heating to be put on yesterday afternoon-the poor lad must have thought we were safely in summer now.
    I never knew we had a Whit Friday. Whit Monday, yes. Hope they’ve not been walking all week!

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

