Celtic Knotwork


image

image

image

image

image

I’ve had a great day today drawing these Celtic designs. You may have seen my earlier work from a few weeks ago, and these pictures represent my improved skills since then. Still a bit wobbly, but it has been a lovely challenge getting my head around the “under – over ” process to make these designs.

My favourite is the snakes but you can see the places where I got carried away and did too many cross overs. Oops here comes the liquid paper to correct my mistakes!

If ever you fancy having a go at these I urge you to do so. I have found them very relaxing to do and in a way they are a form of prayer and meditation, especially the colouring on part.

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Celtic Knotwork

  1. George Kearey says:

    Get your Daughter to “Liberate” a coil of 1/2″ Manila for you and make a doormat with a Celtic Knot. It will take about 3 rounds a la Turks Head Knot. Get yourself a cheap coil of poly rope and practice first. You will need to whip the ends of the rope to stop it unwinding. Poly you can just singe it… Cheers George.

    Like

  2. Andy says:

    Not sure if you saw my last post, but I could do with both prayer and relaxation.
    I like these.

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

