Wednesday Hodgepodge – 22nd July


 

 

1. Is your home air conditioned? If it’s not air conditioned, is that by choice? Did you grow up with air conditioning? If not how did you cope with the heat? Share about a time or place you remember as being too hot-the temperature kind of hot, lest anyone be confused.

No, we don’t tend to need air conditioning here in Manchester because it’s usually too damp and cold to warrant it. We had two very hot days a couple of weeks ago and I managed to keep the house cool by opening the french door onto the garden.

Generally speaking, I don’t do heat. I hate the suffocating feeling when you can’t sleep at night because of it and I don’t like the sluggish feeling it gives me when I’m doing stuff. Nope. Thank you very much, but you can keep your heat!
2. What’s something in your life right now that falls under the heading ‘up in the air’?

In short, my ministry within the church. I am in the very early stages of discernment and decision making about answering the call I am hearing and things are a bit up in the air as to what it is I’m being called to – priesthood or remaining in lay ministry? I have some things to work through and lots of praying to do before the pathway becomes a little clearer.

3. Your favourite light and airy dessert?

I love anything meringue-based, so Pavlova or Eton Mess will do for me. Failing that I’d usually snap your hand off if you offered me Tiramisu!
4. When did you last feel like you were ‘floating on air’?

I was incredibly proud of my son a couple of weeks ago when he played at the Bridgewater Hall in Manchester for the first time. He played in the Greater Manchester Hub Brass Band which is a band made up of the best young brass players from the Greater Manchester area. I was so proud I didn’t feel the seat beneath me, especially when I could hear his beautiful tone colouring the bass sound at just the right moments. I will have to revise the answer to this question on Friday when my daughter receives her Law degree from university. Oh boy, definitely proud mama walking on air time at the moment!
5. Airport, airmail, airtight, airhead…which have you most recently encountered? Explain.

Airtight. Well, almost. I think I’ve described to you my recently discovered method of cooking biryani, but in case you missed it, it involves bringing flavoured/spiced rice and chicken to the boil and sealing the lid on the pan to make it airtight before letting it simmer and then stand without stirring. The airtight lid forces the steam into the rice and cooks it beautifully without any interference from me and we had it on Sunday when we had little time to cook a meal before my son was off out to band practice.
6. Have you ever been to the Alps? If so where did you go? If not, is this a destination on your must-see list? If you were headed that direction this summer, which of the following would be your preferred activity…a gentle walk, a serious walk, a bike ride, a boat ride around one of the lakes, or summer snow skiing?

I would LOVE to visit the Alps someday. If I could go anytime soon I would go for a bike ride and a boat ride round the lakes, but skiing in the Spring would be equally fantastic. Sadly, the closest I’m ever likely to get is eating Toblerone.
7. What is one saying or phrase that was considered ‘cool’ when you were growing up?

I grew up in the 70s and early 80s and the definition of “cool” definitely changed during that time. I can’t think of an particular saying that was cool, but the coolest people on TV were The Professionals. Anyone remember them? Bodie and Doyle under the management of Cowley. I was definitely a Lewis Collins fan.
8. Insert your own random thought here.

I’m on holiday countdown now. We are off in our caravan soon and will be heading to the Northeast again. Northumberland, Lindisfarne, Seahouses, Bamburgh… I CAN’T WAIT!!!!!!

bamburg castle

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Wednesday Hodgepodge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Wednesday Hodgepodge – 22nd July

  1. Enjoy your holiday! The anticipation of getting to go on one is so much fun!

    Like

  2. edshunnybunny says:

    Congrats to both your son and daughter, for being so accomplished! It’s no wonder you’re “floating on air” 🙂
    I hope those answers you seek [concerning your future] become crystal clear to you. Blessings!

    Like

  3. Ok , this is the SECOND TIME I’m hearing the term “Eton Mess” … I must find a recipe and eat this!! 🙂

    Blessings upon you as you seek God’s calling for you specifically.

    Greetings from Arkansas, USA (albeit I am German-born!) 🙂

    Like

  4. Pingback: Wednesday Hodgepodge - 22nd July | Christians Anonymous

  5. dderbydave says:

    Pinched this.

    Your path is unclear but prayer and contemplation will light the way.

    Big well done to the kids for their achievements.

    Like

  6. Congrats to Ethan and to Emma!

    Enjoy your holiday!

    Mary in PA

    Like

  7. Gosh, I envy and admire you for considering a move into ministry — it’s not for me, but I know God will give you the answer! I also love a Pavlova — Ina Garten has a great recipe for it too. Be sure to try the Mocha Icebox Cake — I think you’ll love it. Have a great week!

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

