Daybook Entry – 10th September


8598a-simple-woman-daybook-largeFor Today… 10th September 2015

Outside my window… there is a clear autumnal sky and the stars are as clear as tiny little bells

I am thinking… about what we talked about in our study group this evening. The discussion was on the Holy Spirit and how we experience him

I am thankful… for my church family

I am wearing… green t-shirt for bed. It’s one of my best sloppy Joe’s!

I am creating… a crocheted blanket for the living room. I have been working on it for months and months and I get the bug to do a load of patches for it and then it goes away in the bag again for a couple of weeks. I’m nearly at the stage where I have enough of them done to start taking photos of it

I am going… to Liverpool on Saturday for the RLPO rehearsal ahead of the Albert Hall concert. Nervous? Me??!

I am wondering… if I’ll get through the list of set books before the Children’s Lit module starts at the end of the month. I have got to finish Treasure Island and Little Women (stuck on both of them) and I have got to read Mortal Engines and the latest Carnegie prize winner, Buffalo Soldier and then I’m all set to begin the study for real. The only other ones are Peter Rabbit and Voices in the Park, but due to their brevity I feel I can manage to read those during the appropriate study week

I am reading… funnily enough, I’m trying to wade through Treasure Island and Little Women, but for “fun” I am also reading Break No Bones by Kathy Reichs

I am hoping… my Mum gets her birth certificate through the post tomorrow

I am learning… how to stand up for myself in a certain situation and to make sure that No means No

In my garden… the grass needs cutting, probably for the last time this year

In my kitchen… we have had very disjointed meal times this week, what with one thing and another. Today for example, I felt so poorly this morning that I could only manage a piece of toast and then around 3pm I got so hungry that I felt sick. Before I could negotiate with my stomach as to what it could tolerate I got the shakes. Oh boy, did I get the shakes! I had some Ryvita crackers with some cheese, tomatoes, cucumber and red pepper which seemed to do the trick but I felt too full afterwards that I didn’t want any tea when the boys were home later. I’ve had some cake at study group but that’s all for today and my stomach still feels very full

A favourite quote for today… “When you know better, you do better” (Maya Angelou)

A peek into my week…

Bringing my daughter back home. Not as well packed as Tetris King Kevin, but t least we got everything in.
Bringing my daughter back home. Not as well packed as Tetris King Kevin, but t least we got everything in.
Our bandstand for the concert last week in Rowarth, High Peak. As you can see, it's in a field. On top of the hills. And the audience were dressed in woolly hats and blankets...brrrr!
Our bandstand for a concert with Besses o’ th’ Barn Band last week in Rowarth, High Peak. As you can see, it’s in a field. On top of the hills. And the audience were dressed in woolly hats and blankets…brrrr!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One of my favourite things… is going on a road trip (unless it’s getting lost in the country lanes of the Peak District on the way to a gig, or when the SatNav dies as I exit the Wallasey tunnel on the wrong side of the estuary)

Post Script

There seems to be so many things going on at the minute that it’s difficult to pin very much down in writing, hence the Daybook Entry.

  • There has been a lot of changes recently – Emma is back home (for now); Ethan has started Sixth Form college and has a new routine which includes going to bed earlier and getting up earlier in the mornings, doing homework without being prompted and juggling the demands of a part time job at Pizza Hut; I have started the preliminary stages of my last two OU modules for my degree…and so it goes on. I know that life is all about change, and that change is necessary for progress, but that doesn’t make it any easier to handle.
  • I have been disturbed by several things in the news this week. The refugee crisis; the kids turned out of school for uniform/appearance breaches; the bus crash in Rochdale to name but three. There seems to be so much to say, but so little that hasn’t already been said by other, more clever people than me.
  • Other stuff, family stuff. My mum and dad, my father in law, my brother, my niece and God-daughter who had a birthday this week, my husband, my son…all on my mind and in my prayers for various reasons.

Thank you for sticking with the Daybook today. A bit choppy, but that’s my mind at the moment!

 

6 thoughts on “Daybook Entry – 10th September

Add yours

  1. I love these posts. You’re far more diligent than me. I struggle to do half a dozen each month!
    Guessed you were moving someone with that iron wodged in the middle.
    You do lead a hectic life don’t you. “Day at a time” eh?

    Like

    1. Yes, the iron on the middle was a last minute “well I’m not leaving that” decision or else it would have been stacked properly underneath the clothes on the hangers. I was bringing emma home from Wallasey after her boyfriend left to join the merchant navy. Sounds a bit of an extreme thing to do, but I assure you, it was all amicable and a long standing thing lol!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Always so happy to see a new post from you my friend! I must confess to not really liking Treasure Island and thus understanding why you might be struggling through it, but I am surprised that Little Women is a slog! 😉

    Mary in PA

    Like

    1. I think I am struggling with Little Women because it’s one of those “must read” books that has been on my list since childhood. It’s almost as if I’ve built myself up to it for so long now I can’t relax and enjoy it! I’ll let you know how it goes 🙂
      Pam

      Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama!

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

