Daybook Entry – 8th October 2015


8598a-simple-woman-daybook-largeFor Today… 8th October 2015

Outside my window… somewhere not too far north from here, the Northern Lights are glowing again. I wish I could jump in the car and head up the M6 to see for myself!

I am thinking… about a short story I am trying to write in a different genre than I’m used to. I’m not so much stuck for inspiration as bravery. It’s a big deal to step out of my comfort zone but that’s precisely why I wanted to do this OU course.

I am thankful… that when I woke up screaming after night terrors last night my husband was there to calm me down. Sometimes, having as vivid an imagination as mine can have its drawbacks.

I am wearing… my hair in a shorter style than I’ve had it for a while. It’s still long enough to tie back (mostly) but it feels different being off my collar.

I am creating… a winter blanket for the living room. It’s coming along slowly because I can only do a patch at a time in the odd evening. I’m probably about three quarters through crocheting the individual patches and then comes the mammoth job of joining them together and edging it.

I am going… to post a reminder on Facebook shortly for a prayer morning we’re holding at my church on Saturday morning. It’s at St Paul’s in Blackley if anyone is interested in joining in.

I am wondering… if I’ll sleep through the night tonight.

I am reading… as well as the set books for my OU module on Children’s Literature, I am working my way through Kathy Reich’s series at the moment. I’m currently reading “Spider Bones” which is the 12th or 13th I think. I have got “The Colour of Magic” by Terry Pratchett lined up when I’ve finished that one.

I am hoping… that the Northern Lights will be visible when we’re driving back from band tomorrow night. I really want to see the Northern Lights, can you tell?!

I am learning… how to craft my writing better. I have a tendency to be too verbose in my fiction writing and I am learning how to rein it in.

In my garden… we have a rosebush that is still in bloom, even though the season has changed. It’s a remarkable thing because it came from my mother and father in law’s garden at their bungalow when we cleared it a couple of months ago. It’s a nice connection to them now that they are not here themselves to enjoy it.

In my kitchen… Kevin made a beautiful stew for tea tonight. Root vegetables, stewing steak, potatoes and delicious gravy. I could have eaten it three times over!

A favourite quote for today…

C S Lewis

 

A peek into one of my days…

Feeling poorly and catching up with Strictly Come Dancing whilst crocheting my blanket.

Feeling poorly and catching up with Strictly Come Dancing whilst crocheting my blanket.

 

One of my favourite things… Salty and Sweet Popcorn (a new discovery, oh boy!)

From the board room… I really want to make one of these for winter

 

Post Script… I haven’t blogged for a while for a couple of different reasons. First of all I’ve restarted my studies and I have recently delivered another sermon at my church. Both these things have taken more brain power than I’ve used for a while and my brain feels like mush. Next, I’ve been ill again and I am just coming out of an episode. And finally, I had an IMMENSE week a couple of weeks ago playing with Besses o’ th’ Barn Band and the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra. We performed at the Royal Albert Hall and the Liverpool Philharmonic Hall under Vasily Petrenko and have been broadcast on Classic FM. I will blog more fully about it over the weekend when I have got my photos together.

 

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Daybook and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Daybook Entry – 8th October 2015

  1. Pingback: Daybook Entry - 8th October 2015 | Christians Anonymous

  2. Glad to see a post from you. 😉

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

