Share Your World


I am taking part in Cee’s “Share Your World” meme this week, and you’ll find my answers below. If you would like to join in too, click the picture and you will be taken to Cee’s host site. Welcome aboard!

Are you usually late, early, or right on time? 

I’m usually early but for some reason today I have been late for both things I had a meet time. I don’t know why! It was as if my clock was conspiring against me today and was thieving time from me in 5 minute slots. One minute I had 15 minutes until I needed to leave the house and the next I was 5 minutes after that time. How? HOW?! I hate being late. I think being late for something is the height of rudeness so to be late – twice – in one day today is something unusual and something of which I’m not particularly proud.

If you were or are a writer do you prefer writing short stories, poems or novels?

Well, I am a writer, and I prefer to write short stories but I have a dream one day of having the discipline to write a novel-length piece. I know it’s a simple matter of discipline because I have got notebooks and files and folders full of scraps of paper with notes for characters, plots, plot twists, story frameworks, little snippets of conversation and observation etc, but it all needs writing up, and that takes discipline. Which I lack.

I have written some poetry but it’s not very good. Or very poetic for that matter. I tend to write comic verse, or really predictable rhyme schemes that are not at all sophisticated but they entertain and challenge me so I will probably keep that up. Nothing worth sharing though!

Where did you live at age ten?  Is it the same place or town you live now?

I live in a lovely part of Manchester called Blackley. I was born here and moved away briefly when I first got married but I have lived here for the past 17 years and can’t ever see myself leaving it. I love this place and I love the people here. I wrote about my home town on this page if you want to read more about where I live.

Would you rather be able to fly or breathe under water?

Hmmmm tough question! I have a recurring dream where I am under water, but by getting my mouth up close to the underside of the surface of the water I can breathe quite easily. For some reason, in this dream, it’s important that I can breathe under water and it never occurs to me to put my lips up a bit further so I can breathe the air above. That’s the nature of dreams I guess. But, if had to make a choice of that or flying, I would have to choose flying. I’d quite like to be a bird, preferably one that flies long distances at higher altitudes, so not a sparrow or something. I’m more of an eagle or red kite kinda bird.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I am grateful for the safe delivery of my cousin’s baby William last Tuesday. He’s the first baby to be born on that side of my family for a long time and he is a little cutie pie.

This week, I’m looking forward to the clocks going back on Saturday. I love that “different” feeling on the day after the clocks have changed, especially when they have gone backwards in October. There is a different quality to the light during the day, and there is a different sense of settling down and being home-y as dusk falls a bit earlier. I think I ought to have been born as a grizzly bear because I would love to start hibernating at this time of the year. Just imagine what it would be like to close the door on winter, settle down with a cupboard full of food and lots of loving friends and family around you to share stories, play games, sleep and generally resting and restoring yourself for a little while.

5 thoughts on “Share Your World

Add yours

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama!

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

