A Bit of Sunday Stealing


I stole this from sundaystealing.blogspot.co.uk/ who in turn stole it from somewhere else, but here’s a bit of nonsense for a Sunday evening. Feel free to follow the link above and do a bit of your own thievery and join in.

1.If you were trapped in a room with the person who asked this for 24 hours, what would you do? The answer cannot be romantic or sexual.

If someone asked me to watch back to back episodes of “Frasier” I would do it. So long as there was also an endless supply of tea and custard creams.

2. If you could learn any language instantly, what would it be?

I would love to be able to speak Russian.

3. If you could only read one book for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Apart from the Bible (obviously), if I only had one book to read it would be a poetry anthology so something like “Poetry Please”, as compiled by Roger McGough for Radio 4.

poetry please

4. Favourite song lyric?

“No power of hell, no scheme of man,

Can ever pluck me from His hand:

Till He returns or calls me home,

Here in the power of Christ I’ll stand”. 

From “In Christ Alone” by Stuart Townend. It says it all really.

5. Favourite album?

“Love Over Gold” by Dire Straits. Favourite track on this album has got to be Telegraph Road.

love over gold
6. Which time of day would you say is best for you work-wise?

Late afternoon to late at night. My work rate in the morning and early afternoon is usually centred around faffing about and distracting myself with nonsense before I can settle down to actual work.

7. Favourite city that you’ve visited?

Edinburgh

8. Favourite city that you haven’t visited?

Chicago! Would love to go some day.

9. If you could donate £10,000 to charity, what charity would you pick?

Any charity that supports homeless people.

10. What is one book you wish you could get all your friends to read?

Apart from the Bible? Um… tricky. I would get them to read some poetry (like the one mentioned above), or something thought provoking, like “The Shack” by William Paul Young.

11. What is one movie you wish you could get all your friends to watch?

Might sound a bit cheesy, but “It’s a Wonderful Life” starring James Stewart. It’s a nice feel-good film but also it has a very clear lesson for us all, and that is not to underestimate ourselves and the power we have to affect other people’s lives even without realising it.

12. What do you think people assume about you from first glance?

Because of my size, I think I might appear to be a bit of a jolly character but it would take you only a split second to realise that any confidence and jollity you might see initially is a very thin veneer covering insecurity and a sense of failure underneath. Including the failures and insecurities about my size.

13. If you could play any musical instrument, what would it be?

Well, I can play musical instruments generally (some are VERY generally!) but I would love to be able to play the piano properly. I can tinkle out a tune and I can play a couple of little snippets with both hands, but I would love to be able to play it properly. How lovely would it be to turn up to a bar or restaurant where there was a piano sitting there and I could just sit down and start playing to entertain people?

14. What is your favourite item of clothing?

I have a grey fleece-lined hoody that is like a wearable comfort blanket to me. I got it last summer to go camping with, and it was nice to wear round the fire at the beach at night but was a bit too warm all the other times. It has been washed a fair few times now because through the winter when we didn’t (couldn’t) have the heating on in the house during the day, I wore it day in and day out. It kept my sanity as well as keeping me nice and warm. Recently, I was getting a cold and my ears were hurting – you know how the first stages of being ill feel? – and I couldn’t get warm enough while I was studying, so out came the hoody. Mighty fine feeling it was too!

15. Who was your first follower on your blog? Do they still follow you?

I can’t remember to be honest. I have had a blog for quite a long time now and I migrated from the original Microsoft/Hotmail one when it was closing and took up with WordPress. That was about six years ago now. Wow how time flies!

16. If you could create one thing, what would it be?

I would create the solution to world peace. Seriously. I am guessing it lies somewhere in the depths of a) having enough fuel around the world so we don’t have to fight over oil supplies and b) having totally different religions about the same God and yes, fighting over who’s right. If only we could calm down and behave, world peace isn’t such a far-off dream is it?

17. Favourite superhero?

Bananaman.

18. If you were to write an autobiography, what would you title it?

“C-, See Me”. I always manage to achieve a grade of about C minus in everything I do (EVERYTHING) and ‘see me’ was something frequently written on my school work as a kid by the teacher because I’d either misunderstood something and got hold of the wrong end of the stick, or I just leapt off in a little world of my own. It’s a pattern that has stuck with me through to the tender age of 44 (and a half).

19. If you were to have a band, what would you call it?

I do have a band, and it is called Todmorden Community Brass Band. And yes, we rock!

20. What is your favourite card/board game?

I love playing Cluedo, and would play it all the time if someone would play with me. Card games? Not a huge fan, but we have a game called Domino which has become a camp favourite when we are away in the caravan. Great fun and a masterclass in poker faces…not!

21. What was the first IM service you used? Who was the first person you talked to on it?

The Microsoft/Hotmail one. I can’t even remember what it is called let alone who I talked to on it.

22. If you could give a friendly hug to any one person, who would it be? Cannot be your romantic/sexual partner if you have one.

Today, I would hug Eddie and Phil. For very different reasons, and they both know why.

23. Have you ever won any sort of contests? What kind?

As a competing bandsman since about the age of 10, I have had my fair share of wins at contests but the biggest one so far has been when I played principal cornet for Middleton Band and we won the National Finals in 2007. Big achievement, and one that I am still incredibly proud of.

24. Who was the last person you hugged? Cannot be your romantic/sexual partner if you have one.

Ethan my son.

25. If you could be skilled in any one activity, what would it be? Cannot be romantic or sexual.

I would be a skilled writer. I consider myself a writer already but a skilled one is some way off yet. I would like to be able to be good enough to earn a living from it, whether that is through journalism or blogging, or copy writing etc. Of course, like any writer, I harbour that dream of being the next J K Rowling but I am a realist, and know that even if I could finish a novel that connected to the literati just at the right moment, I doubt that I would have the sass to carry it off. I’d be happy to be able to earn enough to clothe and feed myself from skilled writing. That would be nice.

writer

One thought on “A Bit of Sunday Stealing

Add yours

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama!

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

