Wednesday Hodgepodge – 28th October


I’m taking part in the Wednesday Hodgepodge this week and urge you to have a go too if you enjoy my answers. Click the picture below and follow Joyce’s instructions if you want to join in.


1. Are you comfortable with silence? If you’re home alone, do you like silence or do you need regular background noise? Do you seek out times and places to be silent? What’s your favourite place to find silence/be silent?

I am comfortable with silence and sometimes I actively seek it out, but most of the time such as when I’m studying during the day, I like to have the radio on low beside me so that I have some background sounds going on. I like to tune to a classical music station mostly, but I like having Radio 4 sometimes too because it is all voices. I don’t necessarily listen to what they are saying, but the low murmur of voices is soothing. I am extremely lucky to have a little room which I like to call my “Pam Cave” where I study and work through the day and the silence there is different to the silence of my bedroom.

My favourite time for silence is late at night, so the hours between end of TV/laptop screen and sleep. There is a certain quality to the sounds of late night silence which I am extremely comfortable with, and it is not the same as daytime silence somehow.

2. October 28th is National Chocolate Day. Can’t let that go by without a mention now, can we? Will you celebrate? How? Let’s say you can have one of the following right this very minute…a cup of hot chocolate, a strawberry dipped in chocolate, a bowl of plain chocolate ice cream, or a slice of chocolate pie…what’s  your pleasure?

Oooh, now then. Chocolate and I are not the bestest of best friends usually and I can’t see me ever celebrating a whole day of it. We get on in very small doses, so a cup of hot chocolate now and then in winter is ok but anything like a slice of chocolate cake or chocolate ice cream would leave us bitter enemies.

3. How do you feel about blue jeans? Favourite thing in the world to wear or nope, don’t own a single pair? How often do you wear blue jeans in a typical week? Do you own a blue jean jacket?

I have two pairs of jeans which I regularly wear when I’m out doing church and band stuff but they’re too restrictive to wear when I’m studying or working at home. I have one pair that are slightly “tidier” than the other, and one which are less so and look more like denim-coloured cloth than actual jeans. Other than that I have jeans that come out of the wardrobe now and again but by and large, whenever I am out, I’m usually in some jeans or another. Very rare I wear anything else to be honest!

4. Are you superstitious? If so, in what way?

No, not really. I have nothing against people who are superstitious, but to live life thinking that any outcome depends on whether you’ve crossed a pair of knives on the table, or put new shoes on the bed, or whether a black cat has crossed your path or whatever just seems like too much hard work! I do tend to say “good luck” to people a lot, and I do end some emails with “best wishes”, which I think are a form of superstition are they not?

5. If you had to come up with a costume using only things you have on hand right now, what could you come up with?

I could throw clothes together and make a cowgirl costume I guess. I have a couple of check shirts and coupled with my several pairs of jeans I could pass as a sort of cowgirl? Short of a hat, but I could get away with that in the right company.

6. What scares you a little? What do you do when you feel scared?

Good question! The thing that is making me think closely is the “little”. I have big fears – dying a painful death, my children being hurt etc – but small ones? Crikey! I guess something that scares me a little, is being successful.

Let me explain.

Failure and disappointment are so much part of our everyday life that we learn from an early age how to cope with them. I don’t mean big things necessarily, but let’s be honest, life is not easy and we learn how to deal with things going wrong or going against us from the off. We learn to share with siblings (if we have them) – we can’t have things all to ourselves; we learn in the classroom that not all of us can come top in tests and exams – in a class of 28 children, 27 of us are going to be disappointed, and so on. But success is a different thing and if you look at it, it comes along in such short bursts or so infrequently that when we do earn a win, or a gain, that we don’t always know how to respond to it. And I’m no exception! I can cope when things go wrong because that’s the way my life has always played out, but things going well? Being successful? Having something go totally my way? Seriously, that scares me a little.

I think subconsciously when it looks like things are going to go all my way and that I might be in danger of triumph, I tend to scupper myself just so I don’t have to cope with winning. As I am getting older I am learning to get over that and I am learning how to go after things that will be good or nice for me, such as pursuing the chance to play at the Royal Albert Hall last month. A couple of years ago I might have found a way of making sure that didn’t happen. Strange eh?!

On a slightly different line, when I get scared I cope in different ways depending on what it is that’s affecting me. My go-to response is prayer.

7. Perhaps today will be the day I _____________________cook my first dish using pumpkin.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

It was my Mum and Dad’s 47th wedding anniversary the day before yesterday. I don’t know how they have managed to stay together so long, especially through the bad times and the lean times. I think one of their secrets of their long marriage is that they don’t let the odd argument spoil things. They are constantly bickering with each other (few out and out rows!) but underneath there must be a core of steel in both of them. It’s definitely and example to us all, especially in these days of throwaway materialism where if something isn’t to our exacting standards we just walk away, or get rid of it, or plaster it all over Facebook and let the world see our problems. Happy anniversary Mum and Dad!

 

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Wednesday Hodgepodge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Wednesday Hodgepodge – 28th October

  1. Barbara says:

    I love the idea of a “Pam Cave”. That sounds wonderful.

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      Thanks Barbara! It’s my study area which I claimed when my children moved bedrooms and I ended up with the smallest room. It’s just big enough for my desk, computer and a couple of shelves of books. It’s a piece of heaven here on Earth!

      Like

  2. denise says:

    Pam cave, I like that.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love the way you thought about being scared. That didn’t even cross my mind since Halloween is looming, I just assumed scary stuff like ghosts and demons. Loved your take on it. Hope you have a greatt week!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Wednesday Hodgepodge - 28th October | Christians Anonymous

  5. jodaley says:

    It’s nice to see you in the HP this week. I’ve never heard of the shoes on the bed superstition. Happy Anniversary to your mom and dad. Long marriages are something to celebrate!

    Like

  6. Royal Albert Hall?! It’s my dream- just to attend someday! Preferably the Last Night Of The Proms. Maybe you’ll be there! My experience with failure and success is that friends cluster around when you experience failure but are nowhere to be found when you’re successful.

    Like

  7. debby9972 says:

    Me too on the jeans, that’s all I wear. Like your answer for #6 on fears. So did you make a pumpkin pie?? Happy Anniversary to you parents!

    Like

  8. Wow! 47 years is AMAZING!

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

