Daybook Entry – 11th November


poppy daybookFor Today… 11th November, Armistice Day

Outside my window… we are starting to hear the start of the storm which has made its way across the Atlantic. The wind is blowing a hoolie and rain is lashing the windows.

I am thinking… about those in Manchester city centre tonight who don’t have a safe place to sleep.

I am thankful… that I have a roof over my head and a warm bed to sleep in tonight.

I am praying for… guidance and calm for someone close to me; for my Mum and Dad; for Eddie.

I am wearing… a fixed expression.

I am creating… a screenplay adaptation of a writing assignment I wrote for my OU module. I’m finding it tough going because I’m rewriting a series of diary entries (no dialogue, no action but plenty of internal thinking) into drama which is to be seen on TV or the stage which is all dialogue, not much “action” and no internal thinking at all. Tall order!

I am going… to pin down our band Christmas programme tomorrow, I really am.

I am wondering… which balls are rolling in which direction.

I am reading… still trying to get through Little Women and the end of Treasure Island (coursework) and Bones of the Lost by Kathy Reichs for fun.

I am hoping… that I can concentrate long enough tomorrow to write notes on a long academic essay about one particular aspect of children’s literature.

I am learning… that there is more to children’s literature than I thought.

In my garden… we have had lots of small birds visiting recently – blue tits, great tits, sparrows, robins – and I think that the bounteous berry harvest in my borders has attracted them. I think it won’t be long before I can start putting out nuts and seeds on the bird feeder to get them through the winter.

In my kitchen… I made a fish pie using frozen fish pieces from Aldi (budget supermarket), a handful of frozen prawns, some peas, a homemade white sauce (butter, flour, milk, seasoning) and a sliced potato top (par-boiled for ease of cooking) and it was absolutely gorgeous. We fought over the left overs it was that tasty.

A favourite quote for today…

Canticle
Christ, as a light
illumine and guide me.
Christ, as a shield
overshadow me.
Christ under me;
Christ over me;
Christ beside me
on my left and my right.
This day be within and without me,
lowly and meek, yet all-powerful.
Be in the heart of each to whom I speak;
in the mouth of each who speaks unto me.
This day be within and without me,
lowly and meek, yet all-powerful.
Christ as a light;
Christ as a shield;
Christ beside me
on my left and my right.

(Northumbrian Community prayer)

A peek into one of my days…

wpid-dsc_0116.jpg

This is Terry, our terrapin. He’s asleep in this picture – yes, eyes closed and snoring! How cute is he?!

One of my favourite things… is reading my book last thing before bedtime.

From the board room… Christmas is coming!

santa mug cosy

Post Script:

Today is Armistice Day in Britain, which is a commemoration day marking the Armistice of the First World War, or when ceasefire was called. It was declared at 11am on the 11th November 1918, and so today the nation stopped at 11am to mark that moment.  We marked Remembrance Sunday a couple of days ago which is slightly different but essentially both occasions remember those who have fallen defending our freedom.

In the lead up to Armistice Day, people show their support by wearing a red poppy which was chosen as the flower of remembrance in 1921 after John McCrae’s poem “In Flanders Fields” mentioned it. Silk flowers were originally sold for charity by the British Legion (later the “Royal” British Legion) that year, and have been the central symbol of remembrance ever since although today the RBL poppies are made from paper and there are countless other versions available, such as small enamel ones and large jewelled ones. Not all of the “alternative” poppies are sold for charity, which makes me sad because there seems to have been a rise in public condemnations for people who don’t wear a poppy – particularly if they are on TV – but nothing is said about the potential funding that the RBL loses out on because of the non-paper ones.

There are growing numbers of people who choose not to wear a red poppy, but opt to wear a white one instead which signals their wish for peace and pacifism.  As a Christian, my prayers are always for peace and for peaceful solutions to world issues but I’m not sure I would personally wear a white poppy. I do support those who do, same as I support those who wear red ones, or none at all.

 

After all, the people we thank on days like today died so that we could exercise our right to support whatever cause we wish to, donate to whichever charity we wish to, buy as much jewellery as we want to, say the prayers that we want to, stand still in the middle of the street on a rainy Wednesday morning in November if we wish to. There are places in the world where such freedoms are not enjoyed, or not enjoyed by all sectors of society.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Daybook Entry – 11th November

Add yours

  1. I love the little santa cozy on your cup. your turtle looks like a red slider. I had a turtle once. I did not know Aldi was in The UK You have a good day.

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

