New Year’s Day-book Entry


8598a-simple-woman-daybook-largeFor Today… 1st January 2016

Outside my window… it’s dark and wintry

I am thinking… about the new slate we have presented to us this time each year, and about the opportunity we are given to recalibrate a few things in our lives. I’m not usually one given over to massive lists of resolutions or anything, but the chance to adjust one or two things is a welcome one.

I am thankful… for the wonderful time I spent in the run up to and over Christmas with my friends and family this year. It is usually a very difficult time of year for me but this year for the first time ever I think, it has been a delight.

I am praying for… God’s hand in my decisions about my next steps; for R and P; for my cousin Steve and his wife Nikki who have welcomed a beautiful baby boy this afternoon and thanks for his safe delivery – welcome Ethan John.

I am wearing… my hair in pigtails (don’t ask)

I am creating… a drama script for my next assignment. Actually, it’s nearly done (I don’t think you can ever say it’s quite done as a writer can you?!) but I have got an idea of how I’m going to adapt it and submit it to the BBC as a spec script to see what they make of it.

I am going… to go for a walk around a reservoir tomorrow to blow the cobwebs out. I’ve been hard at work for the past 5 days solid and I need to stretch my legs.

I am wondering… if the weather is going to be mildly wintry, wintry wintry, or Arctic wintry tomorrow.

I am reading… “Shadow” by Karin Alvtegen. Just started it today but it has hooked me in from the very first paragraph. I finished reading Peter Robinson’s “All The Colours of Darkness” this morning which was a cracker too, and when I have funds I’ll definitely be reading the next in the series.

I am hoping… that we remember to extinguish ALL the candles tonight before going to bed. Last night one was left on and we very nearly had a disaster…

I am learning… that script writing feels more natural to me than fiction writing. Who knew?!

In my garden… we have debris still from Storm Frank who visited us through the week. By debris I mean broken fence panels, an upturned wheelie bin, three footballs all in various stages of decompression and decay and various bits of broken tree, shrub and rose-bush.

In my kitchen… I still have all the makings of a trifle which I thought I would take to my Mum’s for our traditional New Year’s Day meal together. But I forgot I’d planned that and forgot to do the sponge and jelly first thing this morning. In fact, I only remembered I’d planned it when we were on our way out of the door.

A favourite quote for today… “You are never too old to set another goal or to dream a new dream” C. S. Lewis.

c s lewis quote 2

 

A peek into one of my days… the burned out candle

One of my favourite things… is eating roast beef with my family.

Post Script: My Facebook status last night (and no, I wasn’t drunk!)

So, my 2015 in a nutshell: I lost my mother in law, appeared on The Chase, dug out my cornet and made it onto Classic FM, played for a production of the Wizard of Oz and played in the Royal Albert Hall. I delivered my first real sermon, avoided hospital all year, learned how to do a decent haircut (including my own), seen Emma graduate her Law degree and sweated through all 5 stages of interview with her for the Royal Navy. I’ve been pulled by Sir Nigel Gresley and nearly drowned in Whitby. I got a hug that is about 30 years overdue, sterlingsop made an appearance and I wasn’t ill on Christmas Day. I have had one or two financial issues and I have laughed and loved and laughed and loved some more. If you’ve survived the journey with me congratulations, you get to do it all again next year!

There was plenty more I could have added to this list, but by cracky it’s been a busy year hasn’t it?! I have made a commitment to myself to record more of the shenanigans I get up to (even the ones I can’t share with you in public dear reader) so let’s see what this list looks like on 31st December. What does your past year look like? Are you going to be with me for the next 12 months? Yeah? Great! Let’s compare notes in 366 days time shall we?

 

3 thoughts on “New Year’s Day-book Entry

Add yours

  1. Wow. You really got lucky on the candle. A friend of mine left a candle burning when we were teens and it burnt his whole house down and killed 2 dogs. Very tragic. Luck was smiling on you this time. Sounds like you’ve had an epic year. Happy sweet 2016.

    Like

    1. Yes, lucky is just what we were! I can’t believe the fireplace didn’t catch fire as it’s all wood. I’m sorry to hear about your friend who lost everything in a house-fire, tragic indeed.

      Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

