On This Day…


daisy-petal-water-drop

…six years ago:

I had a job, I played solo cornet in a brass band, I was preparing to take part in a contest weekend away with the band, I went to church now and again, I had a mountain of work on my desk to get through, I had two not-very-happy children and an even more-unhappy husband and I got a tummy ache.

Well, a bit more than a tummy ache to be honest but it makes for a simpler story if I call it that!

Six years later I now don’t have a job (apart from a bit of exam invigilation now and again) but have nearly finished my degree, I conduct a band instead of playing in one and it is so much more fun being in a community band rather than a contesting one. Serving God and my church is a huge part of my life, I have two very-much-grown-up-but-happier children, a happier husband and I still have that tummy ache.

In addition to all of that I have taught myself how to do crochet and I have made mountains of stuff to sell, give away and donate to charity; I have successfully written a screenplay and a song as well as numerous poems and short stories that will probably never see the light of day. I have learned how to cut hair, I have been on “The Chase”, I have delivered a handful of sermons and I have trained as an Authorised Lay Minister.

All in all, there has been a lot of water under a lot of bridges in the last six years and I have changed in a lot of ways. I am much calmer and less stressed than I was; I am more happy at home than I have ever been; I have a stronger faith in God; I have a better idea of what I want to do in the future and I have acquired a raft of skills that are quite useful for once in my life.

Some things are the same as they have always been. I’m still massively overweight, we are still in financial dire straights and I still read about 100 books a year for fun. Oh yeah, and I still have that “tummy ache” too. Perhaps one day they’ll find out what it is and stop the pain? I have changed so much because of this pain and I have enjoyed the transformation so far that I’m not sure I’m ready for it to stop yet. Vive la change!

 

 

 

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama!

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

