Daybook Entry 24th January 2016


8598a-simple-woman-daybook-largeFor Today… 24th January 2016

Outside my window… we’re awaiting the tail end of storm Jonas that has battered the east coast of the USA. It’s all calm for now but it won’t last…

I am thinking… about what I am going to write for my end of module piece for my creative writing course. I’ve got a few ideas swilling around and I am going to have to decide soon so I can submit my plan.

I am thankful… that I managed to do two whole assignments this week.

I am praying for… guidance over a thorny issue I am wrestling with.

I am wearing… black t-shirt and pyjama shorts. Well it’s Sunday evening!

I am creating… notes on a screenplay I want to try out.

I am going… to Stay and Play in the morning, our mums and toddler group at church. It’s a bit of a bind getting up on a Monday morning but the kids and the mums (and the grandmas, aunties, carers, child-minders and my colleagues!) all make it worthwhile.

I am wondering… if we’ll see snow in a day or so.

buffalo soldierI am reading… I have just started “Buffalo Soldier” by Tanya Landman (it’s a set book for my Children’s Lit module) and for entertainment I have just begun DCI Banks book 20 “Watching the Dark”. I finished Stuart MacBride’s latest Logan McRae book “In The Cold Dark Ground” last night and it was a cracker. Well worth the wait from the last one, and I’ll probably do a book review in a day or so.

I am hoping… my hair grows quickly. I cut it before going to bed last night but I took a bit much off my fringe and it stands up a bit like I’ve had an electric shock at the minute.

Comedy haircut and morning face - can it get any worse?!

Comedy haircut and morning face – can it get any worse?!

 

I am learning… the Harvard system of referencing. And I have to copy one every time I need to write one.

In my garden… I saw a little robin this morning pootling around in the laurel bush. He seemed quite happy to be there, hopping from branch to branch and nipping at a couple of buds here and there. Happy chappy and I enjoyed watching him for a few minutes.

In my kitchen… we have just had hunter’s chicken, potato gratin, peas, carrots and broccoli followed by tiramisu. A proper Sunday tea.

A favourite quote for today… “God’s got this”.

A peek into one of my days…

I went on a training course at Manchester Cathedral this week and I was struck again by how beautiful and inspiring the building is and had to share this photo. It was a cold, crisp day which you can tell by the clear blue sky and the sunshine really set off the stonework. How’s this for a lovely view of Manchester?

dsc_0150.jpg

 

One of my favourite things… is sharing pretzels with my daughter

From the board room… my next project!!

fcfcedbb109fb3e2212a616ffd15e006

Post Script: My youngest will be 17 on Tuesday and I am looking forward to his birthday and dreading it in equal measure. Looking forward to it because it is one of those milestones that young people anticipate in the UK when they are legally capable of driving a car and he has been looking forward to that privilege for years, and dreading it because I can’t believe how quickly the past 17 years have flown by and how old I feel knowing I have a nearly-adult son. I look at him sometimes and my arms ache to hold that tiny baby again, to soothe his pains and his cries, to make sure he is asleep when he should be, awake when he should be, to make sure he is fed and comfortable in his clothes with no worries in his head other than where his next lot of milk or dry nappy will come from. I will probably blog more about him on the day (no doubt with some embarrassing baby photos too!) but for today, I just want to savour the last few days of him being a 16 year old before he turns that ‘adult’ corner into manhood.

 

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Daybook and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Daybook Entry 24th January 2016

  1. Andy says:

    Think the tail end of that storm is going to bring us the usual: plenty of rain!
    I have most of those MacBride books on my kindle, but haven’t read any for a while. I can’t remember the last one that I read, possibly the third in the series. I’m going to have to work it out before I return to them. I think a gangster type comes along in the one I last read, who maybe is going to be a recurring character… Damn, I wish I had joined Goodreads back then. Would make things easier for me 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

