Bye Bye Terry


Today we lost one of our country’s best broadcasters in the shape of Terry Wogan. He had a long and varied career on both TV and radio and has been the stalwart in such institutions as Children in Need and the Radio 2 Breakfast Show. He has sung with a brass band, been a quiz master, a chat show host, a radio presenter and so much more, but for me, there is absolutely no contest on his commentary for the Eurovision Song Contest.

Here he is being interviewed by Clive James about his experiences behind the scenes at it:

I am a big fan of the Eurovision Song Contest and no, I don’t take it seriously AT ALL but listening to Terry’s comments on the singers and the interval acts made it for me. Graham Norton does a good job, but I have not yet heard him be as irreverent as Mr Wogan.

Here’s another video of Terry on his chat show where he interviewed Hinge and Bracket, another one of my favourites from TV and radio as a child.

One thing I will miss about him is his Janet and John stories, of which there are hundreds out there somewhere. Here is one when John did some housework… very funny. You have to understand the British sense of humour to get the best from it, but I do hope you enjoy it nonetheless.

RIP Terry, from this Manchester TOG.

 

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

