Dreary Daybook


8598a-simple-woman-daybook-largeFor Today… 8th February 2016

Outside my window… it’s horrible out there tonight. Wind, rain, more rain, more wind, even more rain and wind. And we have a leaky roof.

I am thinking… about my son’s parents’ evening we have been to tonight.

I am thankful… that I didn’t kill him on the way home but not quite as thankful as him!

I am praying for… Simon and his family; Anne Marie and Lauren.

I am wearing… pink jumper, grey t-shirt, black jogging pants, blue and white stripy socks. I am a walking piece of designer artwork this evening.

I am creating… not very much at the minute as I’m not feeling very creative. However, I did make these the other night to pass a quick half hour and some spare wool from my stash.

DSC_0342

I am going… to spend the whole day working on my writing assignment tomorrow.

I am wondering… how my brother Alan and his wife Debbie are doing. We haven’t seen them for ages and it’s high time we organised a visit.

I am reading… “Abattoir Blues” by Peter Robinsonabattoir-blues-paperback

I am hoping… for an unbroken night’s sleep tonight. Last night was disturbed by the need to wake up early today, meaning that in order for me not to oversleep I was subconsciously scared of not going to sleep properly in the first place. Gah! Don’t you just hate it when that happens?

I am learning… to trust my instincts about storytelling.

In my garden… we have had a robin visit us every day for the past few days. I think he’s looking for food so I might put some out on the feeder for him.

A favourite quote for today… “I passed!!! XX” (From my daughter Emma who passed her driving test today at the first time of trying. Thanks muchly to my brother John who has been her driving instructor and whose brilliant teaching has got her through first time).

emma driving test

A peek into my day today… in the space of about 20 minutes I saw these two idiotic drivers parking like this. The first picture shows you a small sports car parked on the pavement with his offside wheels stuck in a grass verge, made muddy by the torrential rain all day and where he has parked because there was no room on the road. I filmed him trying to get out and I was not prepared to help him – apart from the fact it was wet, muddy and dangerous, my thoughts are that he got himself into that mess because of his own stupidity so he can get himself out. Or wait until there’s space on the road.

DSC_0340

And this second picture is after a man drove up, threw his car into the disabled parking space, and then RAN into Asda at Eastlands. No blue badge on the dashboard, and no consideration for anybody who might have needed that spot right by the door. He couldn’t even get it between the (extra wide) lines.

DSC_0341

One of my favourite things… is being told how lovely my children are, and especially how polite and well-behaved they are.

A few plans for the rest of the week: I have an assignment due on Monday next week so I will be mostly working on that, but I have a lot of critical reading to do for my children’s literature too so it’s going to be a heavy study week this week. It is the start of Lent on Wednesday, so I will be going to an Ash Wednesday service at my church on Wednesday evening after a visit from my friend Helen and Friday night is band night.

 

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Daybook and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dreary Daybook

  1. Andy says:

    Speaking of dreary: City!
    After the Leicester debacle, I fear Spurs are going to turn us over too. And we will have a new title winner, namely one of those two teams. Great for the premiership, not so great for us. Hope we can get some players fit in time for the cup final.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

