Book Review – Just One Damed Thing After Another


jodtaaJust One Damned Thing After Another by Jodi Taylor

 

Background/plot:

Dr Maxwell, newly qualified takes up a post at St Mary’s Institute and is in for the experience of her life.

 

My overall impression?

Brilliant!!! What a fantastic book. I loved every word, which is something I don’t often say. It is one of those stories that is a bit daft, a bit weird, a bit sci-fi, a bit historical, a bit of comedy, a bit racy but a lot of adventure and fun. I don’t usually like fantasy books, but this one is a corker. The humour is distinctly British and it is full of quirky language and dialogue, a bit like a younger take on Terry Pratchett but in the real world. If time travel could be deemed ‘real world’.

 

Who are the main characters?

First and foremost is Dr Maxwell – ‘Max’, she is the main protagonist and the story is told from her first person point of view. She is joined by a series of trainees, The Chief, The Boss and a plethora of other characters which never get confused. They are so well drawn they are all distinct and separate in my mind as I read. I suppose the institute itself is also a character – a little bit of a cross between St Trinians and Dr Who.

 

Where is it set?

It is set in modern day Genericshire which could really be anywhere, but the overall tone of the book is most definitely British. In it, Max and her team travel literally all over the world up and down the timeline, from the Cretaceous period to Ancient Egypt and all over the place.

 

Will I read the next in the series?

I absolutely will, it is fantastic and I loved it.

 

Would I recommend it to my friends?

Yes, without doubt. It is the best book I’ve read for a long time and it would be lovely to talk to other people about it so hurry up people and read this book.

 

 

 

 

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Book Review, Books and Reading and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Book Review – Just One Damed Thing After Another

  1. Nancy says:

    Thanks for the recommendation! I love books dealing with time travel! Can’t wait to check it out.

    Like

  2. Andy says:

    I’ve had this on my kindle for ages but not gotten around to reading yet. Think I got it for free, or a minimal price. You have convinced me I should give it a go. Normally with a backlog of books, I’ve just finished reading both Harper Lee books again in response to her death, and I’m now reading a biography of Hedy Lamarr.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

