Daybook Entry 22nd May 2016


8598a-simple-woman-daybook-largeFor Today… 22nd May 2016

Outside my window… it’s a bit cloudy, a bit dusky, a bit wet and a bit too early to go to bed

I am thinking… how much I wish it wasn’t too early to go to bed!

I am thankful… that this difficult period is nearly over at last

I am praying for… Ethan, Chloe & Lily and all who have exams this week; baby Storm who was baptised today and was a delightful visual aid in my sermon this morning; Harold’s family and friends who are grieving; Arthur

I am wearing… my reading glasses, my hair in a loose bobble and nothing on my feet

I am creating… I’ve not been very creative for some time now because of finishing off my degree, and once my final piece has been submitted later this week I will be making up for it! I have got a list of things I want to draw/ paint/ crochet/ photograph/ write about/ compose etc

I am going… to write a 3000 word essay from scratch tomorrow

I am wondering… if I’ll get said essay finished tomorrow…

I am reading… lots of text books and critical essays for my degree and I have a John Grisham lined up for when I can indulge in a bit of guilt-free reading for pleasure in a few days time

I am hoping… I sleep alright tonight. Last night was disturbed to say the least

I am learning… to relax and speak in public. That might sound daft, but up til recently if you presented me with a microphone I would have run a mile, but like today, I not only ad-libbed a bit in my sermon this morning but I was able to talk to a crowd of people listening to the band playing in the park with no problems at all. Not nervous, not struggling for things to say, not embarrassed by my accent (pure Manc!)

In my garden… the sunflower seed I planted a few weeks ago has not put in an appearance yet. I think I have misunderestimated the cold weather we have had recently

In my kitchen… there are lots of cooking projects waiting to be fulfilled when I have the time

A favourite quote for today… on Friday night, listening to Brighouse and Rastrick band playing a pianissimo section of Ravenswood, standing next to a 10 year old in my band:

10yr old: They’re not very good are they?
Me? What do you mean?
10yr old: Well, you can hardly hear them. Look at all these people who’ve come to listen to them and they can’t even hear them. They’re not very good!

I didn’t have the heart to explain to her that playing that quietly was a highly skilled thing to do…

A peek into a few of my days…

A couple of recent photos for you.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One of my favourite things… is drinking weak Vimto

Post Script:

You may have noticed that I have been very quiet on my blog for some time now. It’s because I have been busy with my church work and had a heavy workload on for my degree so I have struggled to justify the time to devote to blogging with all that going on. More recently still I have been doing some work with Lees Band preparing them for Whit Friday last week. That was a brilliant experience but I am seriously exhausted now! I have missed blogging and once this week is over I will be able to get back to some level of “normal”.

Just to show you what sort of thing I’ve done just in this last week or so: Friday – conducted Todmorden band; Saturday – Messy Church; Sunday – led prayers in church; Monday – did Stay and Play at church, worked on my 30 minute screenplay; Tuesday – finished screenplay, submitted it, rehearsed Lees Band; Wednesday – funeral of a congregation member at church and rehearsed Todmorden Band; Thursday – produced a load of promotional literature for the golf club, rehearsed Lees Band; Friday – funeral of another congregation member at church, Whit Friday; Saturday – all-day conference with the Archdeaconry; Sunday – preached at church, conducted Todmorden Band in a concert. It’s been a whirlwind but it has been extremely satisfying too.

 

One thought on “Daybook Entry 22nd May 2016

Add yours

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama!

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

