Wednesday Hodgepodge – 8th June


Welcome to the Hodgepodge! Thanks to Joyce for the questions again this week. If you want to play along, please click the graphic and follow the instructions. Here we go:

1. I read here a list of 13 things you should do in June. I’m paraphrasing a little but basically…

Go on a road trip with your best friend, pick fresh strawberries, host a garden party, take a morning run, treat yourself to a flower bouquet, spend a whole day hiking, discover a new coffee shop, try a new ice cream flavour, read at least one book, visit a Farmer’s Market, make a swing for your home, and visit a new city. 

Which thing on the list do you most want to do? Of the activities mentioned, which one holds the least appeal? How many on the list will you attempt in June? What’s one thing you’d add to the list? 

Having looked at the list there are a couple of things I do anyway (reading books, eating in the garden) but if I were to try something new I would go for a different ice cream flavour

Something new on the list? I would say have a haircut. Spring/early summer is the perfect time for a good cut that will make you feel brighter and lighter to match the weather and the season.

2. What’s something you could do today to feel more peaceful?

I have had a fairly peaceful day today, which was lovely. I cut my Mum’s hair this morning, sorted a huge pile of laundry out, hung some on the line to dry, did a baptism preparation session in church for a family and have been generally pottering about cleaning and tidying up today. It has been a very nice day.

If I’m feeling anxious or stressed I like to try to do something creative such as crochet, writing or painting to help me, but generally speaking, prayer is my go-to activity to find peace.

3. June 7th is National Chocolate Ice Cream Day. Are you a fan? Swiss mocha, rocky road, chocolate chocolate chip, peanut butter and chocolate, or a dish of plain chocolate…what’s your pleasure?

I’m not a huge fan of ice cream, but perhaps that’s because I only really have vanilla. Chocolate ice cream always gives me a migraine so I’ve developed an aversion to it in any form. My favourite ‘different’ flavour was one I tried once that I have not been able to find anywhere else which was absolutely gorgeous – ginger and honeycomb – oh wow, what a flavour sensation that was!

4. you came with a warning what would it say?

At the moment it would be “Warning: Walking Heat Source Ahead”.

5. What’s the most interesting website you’ve visited in the last week?

I did a bit of research on WebMD, which was fascinating. My son has been diagnosed with a Vitamin D deficiency, probably due to mal-absorption rather than poor diet or lack of sunlight and I was doing some reading into it. A very enlightening article that was to the point and didn’t go over the top with the “you’re going to die” messages that online health websites tend to do.

6. Spring, summer, autumn, winter…which season are you? Why?

Spring. I feel that I’m only just getting going with my life and I have the rest of my life to look forward to.

7. “You lose sight of things…and when you travel, everything balances out.” ~Daranna Gidel

Would you agree with that sentiment? Explain why or why not.

Not sure I agree with this, but I agree with the reason for making it. It is easy to become prejudiced to your own point of view if you don’t take a break away from it and look at things from someone else’s perspective. It can be dangerous to think that the rest of the world sees things the way you do, because they don’t, and you have to challenge yourself all the time not to become so entrenched that you think your view is the only view. However, I don’t think travel is the only answer or the only way to challenge your perspective. Reading books, watching films, meeting people, asking questions about your beliefs etc can all helpfully challenge the way you think.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

DSC_0075

This is the view out of my back door into the garden this afternoon. It was lovely and sunny, hot etc and my washing dried in next to no time, which was a good because shortly after this photograph was taken the heavens opened and it was like Armageddon out there! Thunder, torrential rain, black skies… it was almost like the end of the world, honestly. The whole area suffered – flash floods have closed roads and submerged vehicles, drains have collapsed with the force and sheer amount of water that appeared in about 30 minutes this afternoon.

Welcome to the English early summer!

 

6 thoughts on “Wednesday Hodgepodge – 8th June

Add yours

  1. I love clothes on the line! Yes you do have to tread carefully with the medical websites, but I appreciate being able to get information on medications, etc and hear what people say who actually use them. Have a great week! Enjoy that English summer : )

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad you had a peaceful day! Your warning reminded me of “This Girl is on Fire!” I love Web MD, my favorite place to go for information. The view from your yard is so charming. Sorry about the rain!!!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama!

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

