Peaceful Hodgpodge


 

It’s another week on the Hodgepodge and thanks to Joyce for these great questions again this week.  If you want to have a go too, please click the graphic below and follow the instructions. Dive in!

 

1. If you could sit beside and/or jump in any lake in the whole wide world today, which lake would you choose and why?

I would love to be beside Wast Water in the Lake District. It is one of the most beautiful and spiritual places I have visited – not that I’ve travelled much – but this place is breathtaking.

Wast Water, Cumbria

2. What’s your favourite ‘fruity’ drink?

Vimto. Not too strong and made up with fresh cold water it is my favourite pick-me-up at the minute.

3. I read a list here of thirteen things to do right now to simplify your life. They were-

clean as you go, re-evaluate your relationships (cut toxic ties), unsubscribe (too many blogs and websites), de-clutter, write down your daily goals, reply to emails right away, forget multitasking, create a morning routine, re-evaluate your commitments (which hobbies and responsibilities are most important to you), say no, clean up your computer, and plan your day ahead

Which of the tasks listed do you currently find most helpful in keeping life simple? Which item on the list should you adopt in order to simplify your life this month?

There are quite a few of this list that I could do right now to simplify my life! In no particular order – re-evaluate my relationships, clean as I go, reply to emails straight away, learn to say ‘no’ and stick to it, change my morning routine and having had a commitment re-evaluation forced upon me by ill health I don’t really want to do that again voluntarily but there’s no harm in being careful and having a long hard look at the things I fill my time with.

4. What did you do the summer after you graduated from high school?

As a Brit, we don’t do high school the same as you do in the US and our equivalent is Sixth Form, or College, which is the stage before university study. I did a year at college but failed my exams miserably and left to get a clerical job with ICI at the age of 17. I’ve tried hard all my life to make sure my kids don’t repeat my mistake.

5. Are you a fan of podcasts? If so what’s a favourite?

No, not really. I prefer to read content than listen to it and struggle to even listen to audio books so podcasts are definitely not for me thank you.

6. Do you think today’s fathers have it harder, easier, or just different than fathers in the past?

I think they have some things easier (communication and openness about emotions and relationships for example) but they have other things harder (working to provide for a family’s needs is beyond even the most basic wage and so fathers are stretched to earn enough). I think expectations of fatherhood have changed over the years from both children and fathers themselves and some of it is for the better and some of it is not. The responsibilities of fatherhood are the same as ever, but being able to fulfil them are very different I think.

7. Tell us one way you’re like your father? Or not at all like your father if that’s easier?

Physically I have my Dad’s moles and freckles – even down to the mole on our right cheeks that are in exactly the same spot – and whereas my brothers and my mum have hazel coloured eyes, my dad and I have got dark brown eyes. In other ways were are very alike in that we have the same sense of humour (daft and crackpot!), we both love reading and have a large cross-over of interest in the stuff we read, we are both ambidextrous (Dad more than me, but operating tools and paintbrushes we are both the same) and we both love learning – history mainly. Apart from that, we’re not very alike at all haha!

 

 

pam and dad iow

Me and my Dad on the Isle of Wight about 1984/5

My Dad last Christmas playing the "who am I" game

My Dad last Christmas playing the “who am I” game, appropriate character – would you believe he’s 68?

 

8. Insert your own random thought here.

Why does the world have to be so violent? And not just cruel and hurtful on a small scale, between individuals, but wholescale hatred and barbarity resulting in mass death and injury. I don’t get it. Obviously I’m referring to the shooting in Orlando, but also at the Euro 2016 football tournament in France. Why can’t folk just get along with each other without resorting to rioting, or shooting, or letting off flares at one another? Why can’t people live and let live? So what if you don’t approve of someone’s lifestyle, or sexual orientation, or football team they support, or religion they follow, or even what country they were born in. Get over it and let them be. It saddens me that in our so-called ‘advanced’ society, people can still be killed for something that is none of anybody else’s business and where they are doing no harm to anyone.

But it’s not just human to human is it? It saddens me to know there are people who hunt ‘game’ in Africa for fun – elephants, tigers, lions, giraffes and so on – just because they can. Not to gain food, not in self-defence, not to put it out of its misery if it is ill or injured, but simply because they see it as sport, for fun.

Needless and wanton violence for the sake of it and it really upsets me. We pray for peace all the time, and you might agree with me that we are the agents of our own prayers being answered. If that’s true then it is up to us to start doing what we can to bring peace to our world.

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Wednesday Hodgepodge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Peaceful Hodgpodge

  1. debby9972 says:

    Wow, the lake looks gorgeous. I’ve never heard of Vimto. That is pretty amazing about the mole in the same exact spot!! The Orlando shootings was so violent and tragic. I am holding everyone close in my thoughts, heart and prayers.

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

