Daybook Entry -7th November 2016


simple-woman-daybook-largeFor Today… 7th November

Outside my window… the weather is miserable. It is bitterly cold and the drizzle has got needle edges on it.

I am thinking… that I am glad I took some time out last weekend to have a rest and to gather my strength.

I am thankful… for the food in my freezer. That might sound like a very trite thing to say, but trust me, it’s not. Times are hard and money is extremely tight, and we managed to pull together enough money last week for two weeks’ worth of groceries to be able to batch cook meals in individual portions for the coming months. Not only do we have the security of knowing there are meals ready prepared (and with fresh produce, and where I know exactly what’s in them) but we also have enough to share.

I am praying for… my son’s girlfriend and her family who were suddenly thrown out of their home on Friday. They have had to split the family up to find accommodation for the short term, and she is staying with us for a while until her mum and dad can get back on their feet. I am also praying for my own family, particularly my husband, for the strength to keep going and to trust that things are going to work out one day.

I am creating… crocheted mini Christmas stockings for a bit of fun, and I’m working on a hat for myself for winter.

I am going… to meet up with an old friend sometime soon who I haven’t seen for ages.

I am wondering… whether I am going to finish NaNoWriMo this year. Signs are not good so far, but there’s time yet!

I am reading… “The Hanging Tree” by Ben Aaronovitch. It is the latest in a series of books about a special department of the Metropolitan Police which deals with the magical as well as the criminal. The others have been very good and so far this one is turning out to be the same.

I am hoping… my Achilles tendon heals soon because as the weather is getting colder, it is aching more and the lump has come back again.

I am learning… to look for the fingerprints of God in everything around me.

In my garden… a tennis ball randomly appeared one day last week. I don’t know where it came from and it has gone again now. Who? Why? When? What? How come??

In my kitchen… I have made a concerted effort to cook from scratch every night for the past couple of weeks, and it is paying off. I did a lot of research into budget and straightforward recipes that used basic ingredients that I could get cheaply, and I have been trying out some really good and exciting new dishes as well as making some of our family favourites for meals. It has been a useful exercise – not only is it costing us less, but it is healthier and I feel more useful in the house by contributing something by cooking for us all. Tis a good feeling.

A favourite quote for today… “some days you’re more on top of your horse than others” (can’t remember who said it, but it is a good one!)

A peek into one of my days… my graduation last week. I was conferred the degree of Bachelor of Arts with Honours in Humanities with Creative Writing from The Open University at the Bridgewater Hall. Phew what a mouthful, but what a day! Thoroughly enjoyed it and I could get used to wearing that gown and hood.

One of my favourite things… is clean sheets, clean pyjamas and a clean body before bedtime. Bliss!

Post Script: You may have gathered things are a little difficult at the moment, and it has left me unwilling/unable to blog very much recently. Trust me, I feel better than I did a little while ago so I will be making every effort to try to blog a bit more in the coming weeks. There are lots of things on the calendar coming up with band and church and so on, so keep watching, things are going to be interesting to say the least.

 

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Daybook and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Daybook Entry -7th November 2016

  1. dderbydave says:

    You sound like you’re up to your ears in it at the moment. Like you I’ve had a neck full over the past few weeks and blogging isn’t on the top of my list.
    I read about your graduation and know your family must have been brimming with pride at your success after so much hard work (much of which you shared with us). Well done you!

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      Hi Dave, yes rather a lot on at the minute and up to our necks somewhat! Father in law has dementia and had an eye appt today (hence the photo from Fairfield). Not as difficult as we’d imagined but that’s only because he’d been tranked beforehand. Started to wear off on the journey home and things got a little…erm…lively, shall we say. The staff at the clinic knew about his mental capacity and his tendency to get agitated, yet we still had to sit in an overcrowded waiting room with him in a wheelchair for over an hour and a half to be seen. His questions today are the same 3 or 4 for all of that time – where are we, did mother set this up, who’s paying for it and where’s my cap. It takes the mind off money worries I can tell you! Things WILL get better, in certain. Not sure when though…

      Get Outlook for Android

      Like

  2. viviellevirgule says:

    Congratulations on being awarded your degree! Love the pictures of you and Emma!

    I’m sorry things have been tough. You are in my daily prayers and will be in them extra.
    Hugs from across the pond!
    Mary

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

