Daybook Entry – 2nd April 2017


For Today… 2nd April

Outside my window… it has been a gloriously sunny day again today, and my daffodils are nodding beautifully in the garden

I am thinking… about the week ahead and what I can do with my time

I am thankful… for the opportunity to exercise my ministry in the community where I live

I am praying for… my brother who has got a difficult surgery this week, and my parents who are going to be looking after him for a few days

I am wearing… “Red Musk” from the Body Shop. It is a gorgeous scent and was a Christmas gift from Emma

I am creating… a plan of action to get the house Spring cleaned

I am going… to band practice tomorrow night. “Reflections on Swan Lake” with Pemberton  Band

I am wondering… if I ought to see my GP with this pain in my ankle. I have had trouble with my Achilles tendon for a couple of months but in recent weeks it has got really painful and I’m getting a bit concerned about it now

I am reading…  “The Colour of Magic” by Terry Pratchett. I usually get through books like this in a couple of sittings but I have been so busy recently, and my days have been so filled from start to finish, that when I sit down to read before bedtime I have been so exhausted that I can only get a few pages read at a time. It’s a great book though and it’s no reflection on its quality that I can’t read very much of it at the minute!

I am hoping… this weather holds this week so I can sit out on the deck to write outside

I am learning… to trust my instincts more and more

In my garden… Spring has definitely sprung

In my kitchen… there is very little going on, and I need to plan a menu or else we’ll be eating on the hoof for the next week or so

A favourite quote for today… Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus, because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit who gives life has set you free from the law of sin and death.” It is the opening to chapter 8 of Paul’s letter to the Romans and it formed the backbone of my sermon this morning.

A peek into one of my days… this picture is from one of the sessions of Experience Easter I took part in with some of the local schools. This shows some of the children re-enacting the last supper with Eddie our vicar.

One of my favourite things… is looking forward to a lie in tomorrow morning

From the board room… I love these elephants!

Post Script: You may have gathered from the lack of posts recently and reading my post today that things have been a bit busy for me. I have absolutely loved the past four weeks, but they have been pretty full-on in terms of ministry and other things. Just to give you a little flavour of what I have been doing, I have been involved with 7 funerals since last Thursday (four of them in the same morning) and done three home visits to meet with the bereaved families; I have been involved in delivering/hosting 16 sessions of Experience Easter presented at 3 of our mission partnership churches and telling the Easter story to over 1200 children and staff of our local primary schools; I have driven to Wigan and Todmorden for band rehearsals, attended my son’s A-level recital and written and delivered a sermon, a piece of liturgy and led corporate prayers four times in various services and study groups. Oh, and I did a two week spell of exam invigilation too… no wonder I am exhausted!

I did get poorly towards the end of last week with a virus or something, which left me physically drained and meant I spent most of last weekend sleeping off a high temperature and painful muscles and joints. I’m much better now, and to be honest, after such a busy four weeks I am not too sure how to fill up my time next week. I have been putting off so many things because I haven’t had the time – such as cleaning the windows, digging out my painting gear, writing, going out on my bike etc – and I feel a little bit like a kid at the start of the summer holidays with endless days stretching ahead of me to fill. I don’t actually have all that time to myself because I still have a list of things to do this week, notwithstanding the commitments I have to band on Monday, Wednesday and Friday nights, a study group to go to on Thursday evening, a wedding to do the music for on Friday and Messy Church to do on Saturday and whole shed load of little bitty things which won’t take any time but still need to be thought about and done properly. Sigh… I might just get a whole day to myself sometime soon to get my paints out where I can indulge myself without having to clock-watch. I’ll let you know!

 

 

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Daybook and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daybook Entry – 2nd April 2017

  1. viviellevirgule says:

    Phew! You have been busy! I’m glad you were absent from the blog because of busy-ness though, not because you were ill – I was getting worried!

    Hugs from across the pond!

    Mary

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

