Wednesday Hodgepodge – 17th April


I’m joining in with Joyce’s weekly blog prompt today on the Wednesday Hodgepodge. If you want to have a go yourself, please click the picture above and follow Joyce’s instructions.

1. What’s a skill you think everyone should have? 

I think everyone should have a couple of basic skills like being able to cook from scratch, mend minor repairs in clothes, know how to take care of basic hygiene and things like that, but there are also other things that we seem to be lacking in our society too. Things like empathy, putting others’ needs first/being courteous, a certain degree of critical thinking, and basic common sense. The world can be filled with highly skilled marketeers or money makers, but these basic things are what make us compassionate human beings and what the world needs more of in my opinion.

2. Do you have a special place or organizational system for gift wrapping? Do you still buy ‘real’ cards to send for birthdays, anniversaries, get-well, etc? 

I am absolutely hopeless at wrapping gifts so they tend to go in an envelope or a gift-bag. I can’t be doing with the faff and I don’t have the artistic skill to make any package look good so I tend to go for the easy options. And no, I don’t tend to buy cards any more. I might send the odd one on very special occasions like Mothering Sunday, but I just don’t ever remember to buy birthday cards in time to send them. Bad Pamster!

3. It’s National Banana Day…are you a fan? What’s your favourite thing to make with bananas or, if you’re not a cook, your favourite thing to eat that contains banana? 

I do like bananas, but I am very particular about the state they are in before I can eat them. I can’t stand them if they have started to go brown on the skin, and I absolutely can’t abide them once they have gone over the edge of ripeness and start to go dry in texture. I like them underripe if possible, and very cold. Urgh… ripe, warm bananas are the stuff that nightmares are made of.

4. Do you believe in second chances? Elaborate.

I do, I do, I do. None of us are perfect and we all make mistakes. As a Christian, I believe that by the grace of God we are given endless second chances when we repent. Who am I to deny that same grace to my fellow human being when they cause offence to me? That said, I do give second chances (and I would hope people would give them to me as well), but I won’t allow anyone to make a monkey out of me. I will mark your card, but I will let you have another go. Forgiveness is different. I only follow Jesus’ teaching; I am not him and don’t have the capacity to let things go and forgive as he does.

5. What is your idea of fun? 

I find the fun in most things, it’s just my nature. I enjoy being creative, and I enjoy being with other people for the most part. I do enjoy time alone as well where I can recharge my social batteries.

6. Insert your own random thought here. 

A little visual joke for you today:

One thought on “Wednesday Hodgepodge – 17th April

  1. howardwoodc2825d0e77

    Hi Pam.

    I wanted to contact you about 40 Cecil Road, Grocers shop.

    I read that you and your family lived on Cecil Road and had a Greengrocers shop there as well as a farm.

    My Grandparents owned a grocers shop at number 40 from mid 1930’s until maybe 1959? but alas I know no more as I only recall going there once as a youngster and being told to keep out of the shop and away from the meat/bacon slicer!

    My GP’s were Mr&Mrs A&M Wood.

    Are you able to help me with my family history by adding anything to my history, about either the shop or Cecil road, that I could add into this snippet of a memory?

    It would be most appreciated if you were able to?

    Many Thanks in anticipation

    Howard Wood

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.